Within a span of two days 2 cases under various sections of Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA), Andhra Pradesh Public Security Act (APPSA), Arms Act and Indian Penal Code (IPC) were slapped against a key functionary of HRF in Andhra Pradesh in two places.

Activists of Civil Liberties Committee (CLC), Revolutionary Writers Association (RWA), Patriotic Democratic Movement (PDM), Committee for the Release of Political Prisoners (CRPP), Kulan Nirmoolana Porata Samiti (KNPS) were also booked in these two cases under the same sections.

Earlier this month, key functionaries of Human Rights Forum, Telangana were booked under various sections of Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA), Telangana State Public Security Act (TSPSA) and Indian Penal Code (IPC).

The first case was filed by Munchingput PS in Vishakhapatnam district on 23.11.2020. A total of 64 people were booked in this case under Sec. 120 (b), 121, 121 (a), 143, 144, 124 (a) r/w with 149 of IPC; Sec. 10, 13, 18 of UAPA; Sec. 25 of Arms Act.

V.S. Krishna (HRF Andhra Pradesh and Telangana co-ordination committee member) was listed as A.52 in this case. HRF has been working on the Vakapalli gang rape case for the last 13 years ( in 2007 police personnel with Andhra Pradesh Special Police were alleged to have gang raped 11 Kondh aadivasi women in Vakapalli village in Visakhapatnam district). After 12 years finally the trail has started in the case- after lot of resistance and pressure from the government machinery- in the specially designated SC/ST Prevention of Atrocities Act court in Visakhapatnam.

The second case was filed by Piduguralla Town PS in Guntur district on 24.11.2020. A total of 27 people were booked in this case under Sec. 120 (b), 121, 121 (a), 122, 124 (a), 143, 144, 149 of IPC; Sec. 16, 17, 18, 18 (a), 18 (b), 20, 21, 38, 39, 40 of UAPA.

V.S. Krishna was listed as A.27 in this case.

The details of the case pertaining to Telangana are as follows.

A case was filed by Tadvai PS in Mulugu district on 02.11.2020. A total of 21 people were booked in this case under Sec. 120 (b) of IPC, Sec. 8 ( ii) of TSPSA; Sec. 10, 13, 17, 18, 18 (b), 40 of UAPA.

A. Bhujangarao (HRF Telangana state vice-president), A. Suguna (HRF Adilabad district president) and K. Venkatesh (HRF Kumram Bheem Asifabad district president) were listed as A.11, A.12, A.13, respectively. All the three were listed as absconding whereas they are staying in their own homes in their respective villages. Bhujangarao and Sugana continue attending to their duty as teachers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.